The European Corporate Governance Institute
Contact details and online feedbackSearch the site or the webAccess to Members' areaNavigate your way around the siteDisclaimer noticeHow to get the most out of this site
click menu to expand
Prints this page on a local printer
2006 Working Paper Competition

The winners of the three prizes in the 2006 Working Paper Competition were announced at ECGI's General Assembly held at ETH Zurich on 9 March 2006.

The Egon Zehnder International Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in either series on company boards and their role in corporate governance is sponsored by the international executive search firm, Egon Zehnder International.

The winning paper:
A Theory of Friendly Boards
ECGI Finance Working Paper No. 100/2005
The authors of this paper are Renee Adams, Assistant Professor, Department of Finance and SITE, Stockholm School of Economics and an ECGI Research Associate, and Daniel Ferreira, Assistant Professor of Finance, Universidade Nova de Lisboa and an ECGI Research Associate
The Standard Life Investments Finance Prize
The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Finance series is sponsored by the leading investment company, Standard Life Investments.
The winning paper:
Pay for Short-Term Performance: Executive Compensation in Speculative Markets
ECGI Finance Working Paper No.079/2005
The authors of these papers are Professor Patrick Bolton, John H Scully '66 Professor of Finance & Economics, Princeton University and an ECGI Fellow, José Scheinkman, Theodore A Wells '29 Professor of Economics, Princeton University and Wei Xiong, Assistant Professor of Economics Princeton University
The De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek Law Prize

The €5,000 prize for the best paper in the Law series is sponsored by the independent international law firm, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

The author of this paper is Professor Ronald Gilson, Charles J. Meyers Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School and Marc and Eva Stern Professor of Law and Business, Columbia U. School of Law and an ECGI Fellow

For further details of these prestigious prizes, see: